week 1/15: Welcome to Rockstar Yoga

by Suzanne L. Beenackers

“If you want to learn something, read about it.
If you want to understand something, write about it.
If you want to master something, teach it.”
– Yogi Bhajan

When I showed my mother (yoga practitioner since the late 60s) this video she wondered about two things.
1. Do your students know they signed up for this?
2. What is Rockstar Yoga?
My answer was: those things are irrelevant to this video. I ll tell you why all my regular students will be okay with it (or be thrilled) but first let me assure you, yes, there is an idea behind Rockstar Yoga. This promo is not just me glamorizing my yoga classes, although all is fair in love, war, and selling yoga – even that cleavage. But Rockstar yoga is something. You could say a movement, a way of thinking, but more than anything it’s an anatomically different approach of vinyasa yoga, somethings called power yoga.

Sadie Nardini

Sadie Nardini

What is Rockstar Yoga

There are many authors and yogis who use the term Rockstar Yoga or Rockstar Yoga Teacher but I derived it from one of the many teacher trainings from Sadie Nardini, available at Udemy. Rockstar Teacher Training was actually one of her first, and although I’ve watched parts of other trainings as well- it was this one that just stuck with me.
Title as well as content.
I knew the Rockstar Teacher Training was my cue to start studying Sadie Nardini’s super energetic and entertaining type of vinyasa yoga, but I had one problem: I never finished it.
It was as if her lectures and the workshops fed me in a way I couldn’t digest. After a few sections of the course I always dropped out. And then it hit me: I needed to start teaching it in the process of learning it. I needed to put it to practice in my own weekly classes, that way, I would make room to take in new knowledge and lectures.

As sort of a side track: I remember being irritated when about 14 years ago I wanted to study yoga more in depth and the only thing I could find aside from regular weekly classes was a teacher training (old school, with high tuition, and a real building where you had to show up every Saturday). I thought it was pretty over the top, to have a 500 hour teacher training for an amateur looking for something to support her daily practice, but I did it anyway. But during my years of training I realized: it wasn’t over the top at all! Because in order to take knowledge in, we have to share what we know with the world.
If you don’t, you get stagnated. Studying then becomes like filling a cup already overflowing.

So Rockstar Yoga is me sharing the knowledge from Sadie Nardini with you, and putting her knowledge to practice. And finally finishing that course.

Why you signed up for this. Or should 😉 

Sadie Nardini’s Rockstar Yoga is vinyasa yoga or poweryoga. So in my three weekly vinyasa classes you will learn Rockstar Yoga in it’s purest form: which is safer, more powerful and definitely more energizing than any other vinyasa power yoga you had before.  Last Monday I taught the first vinyasa Rockstar Yoga class, and after 10 minutes I knew all my clothes would need laundering. And after 15 minutes I was dripping sweat onto the mat, as was everybody else.
And we were all equally high on what was happening to our bodies.
That’s exactly what Sadie promises, or why she assures you that as a teacher, your classes will start to fill up:
“People notice it, when their innerbodies start working.”
In spring I had already taught one month in Sadie style and my classes grew and I could see how my students put in more effort to come to class. Nobody wanted to miss their weekly “fix”.
Again: it’s in my vinyasa classes where you will get this full experience of this type of yoga.

I m pretty sure that these poweryoga students were not the group my mother was worried about when she asked: do people know they signed up for this? My other two styles are Classical Yoga and Lunar Yoga. In these classes I will do the same exercises as in my vinyasa classes but at a slower pace, and with moments of silence in between. In Lunar Yoga I won’t be doing anything getting the heart rate up too much, or challenging you muscle wise. So in other words: in my Lunar Yoga and Classical Yoga classes you will get a taste of Sadie, but the energy of the class, the reason you signed up, those things will remain the same.

I will teach Rockstar yoga in all classes, and give you the links of where you can find more. But I will only have you dig up your inner Rockstar, unleash the Rebel in you, or work your body up to a sweat as if you’re playing the Wembley stadium, if that’s the show you got tickets to.

week 1 – Rockstar Yoga

For 15 weeks I will be teaching based on classes from Sadie Nardini.
Every first week of the month I will use one of her high quality free video classes on You Tube. This week’s classes are based on:
Self-sabotage busting Power Hour  (free You Tube Class)
Yoga for Insomnia, available at Udemy or pay by donation to Sadie personally.

Become a Yoga Rockstar
Would you like to join my classes in Nijmegen?
You can find all info here. 
Or email me directly at s_beenackers@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

