week 9/15: Seven Spiritual Practices

41pbnyOzjNL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_by Suzanne L. Beenackers 

Yesterday morning I was reading Life Loves You, 7 Spiritual Practices to Heal Your Life, from Louise Hay. And it dawned on me that this could be a fun and light way to start 2016: with 7 weeks combining yoga and this book. Nothing too heavy. Nothing that would force me to go out of my way to get my classes prepared.

Then I went through the rest of the day, basically forgetting about the whole thing, and then suddenly I had this HUMONGOUS AND ALL ENCOMPASSING PLAN for my classes and life in 2016.
I shivered with fear…. no. Could I really do this? Oh dear…it would mean a commitment in every way. A YEAR long commitment. And it had a lot of uncertainty in it, I had no idea if I would pull this off.

There is a performance artist Marina Abramovic, and in one of the thousand interviews I watched with her, she says: always do the project that scares you most.
So I knew that if I stayed true to what I believed in, my scary idea for 2016 was the one.
It was done, decision made. I felt excited.

Then around 6 pm I was like; wait a minute! But that means I can’t do the Louise Hay book next year! Maybe I can do it this year? Oh- isnt it exactly seven weeks till the end of the year?
It was.
And my first class was in 60 minutes.

So now I had a challenging year ahead, and I had raised the bar for this book, since I now had to fast-read, rely on everything from Louise Hay I already knew, and be creative with the rest. Suddenly, teaching the 7 spiritual practices was something I could get my teeth in, since I had minimal preparation time, and still had two months packed with Sadie Nardini as well.

So that is the first spiritual lesson I m teaching you: always raise the bar to the appropriate level. And choose the project that scares you most.

week 1/7 Spiritual Practices: Mirror Play

80 s tumblr_ltdxdn5Ll51qlycwjo1_500“The most common mistake in mirror work is not doing it.”
Louise Hay

This book invites you to connect with your mirror image to work trough negative judgmental thoughts. The relationship to yourself mirrors the relationship you will have with the world – so make sure it’s a good one.

The exercise she gives (and I m not doing any mirror work in class with you, so relax!) is one you do for 7 days: See your mirror image and say 10 times I love You or Life Loves You.
And after that: I am willing to let life love me today.
I will also give you an alternative approach during the long relaxation in class.

Louise’s Best advice:
Always look inside the mirror before you leave the house, until you feel positive. If you feel negative towards yourself that will be mirrored back to you as soon as you set foot out the door.

week 9/15 Sadie Nardini 

For 15 weeks I’m teaching based on classes from Sadie Nardini. This week I m using one class from Sadie’s Rockstar Teacher Training, and one You Tube video.
40 MINUTES EVENING SLOW
This Sadie video is a strong vinyasa flow practice, so don’t get too excited about trying some sweet relaxing class 😉 (I don’t think Sadie offers any!)

Music November (vinyasa yoga)      Madonna 90s Yoga Playlist 90s: Secret 

Become a Yoga Rockstar
Would you like to join my classes in Nijmegen?
You can find all info here. 
Or email me directly at s_beenackers@hotmail.com
Or check my You Tube and practice with my videos.

If you like to take the full course from Sadie herself you can buy Sadie’s Rockstar Teacher Training at Udemy or pay by donation to Sadie personally.

Leave a Reply

