1/52: Something Bigger is on the Way

something-bigger-is-on-the-wayby Suzanne L. Beenackers

I’m pretty fond of New Years Day. A whole new year! It’s like getting a gift that I know is way too big (and someone overstepped his budget), but I embrace it totally, say Thank you! Thank you! and immediately grow attached to it.
First, the 31st of December will seal in all the good of this year: moving to my dream house, fully celebrating my favorite week in Summer, Sinterklaas with my family, Christmas with my friends, my new job as an online yoga trainer, starting my own YouTube, and having the best year in the intimacy field yet.
These experiences will be sealed in, and secured, once the year is over.
And all my failures will be forgiven and forgotten;
Everything I was set out to do, exactly one year ago, when I made the resolution 2015 would be the best year of my life. And planned all the projects and daily habits that would ensure that.

The irony is this: 2015 actually was The Best Year of my life.
Success as a yoga teacher, in love life, deepening my friendships.
But roughly 75 percent of all that wasn’t planned. Or couldn’t be foreseen. And I can name one very important project that had become inconsistent before the end of January.
So does this prove making plans is useless?
“Life is what happens when you’re making other plans.” and all that?
No. I will tell you why I think my conscious start of 2015 was the reason it turned out so well.

“If you don’t know where you’re going, any road will get you there.”
The Cheshire Cat,  Alice in Wonderland

I believe the reason 2015 was the best year of my life, was because I was setting myself up for that. I was inspired to reach my destination. I anticipated certain roads/ projects/ habits would take me there, but instead of stubbornly sticking to my original plan, or route, I chose the road that would lead me to my destination. Now this was not a conscious process, most of the time. I would usually get frustrated that I dropped certain things. But in retrospect, my advice for 2016 would be:
Anticipate it to be the best year of your life.
And pay attention to the road. Be flexible and learn how to anticipate.

12376022_10153743799649675_1826923195343368172_n

It this reminder rings a bell, then YES, put that project back on your list!

Here’s how to kickstart your happiness in 2016:
Get your fuel.
Make a list of all the things that make you happy instantly. A clean house, a night in a hotel, keeping a journal, doing yoga.
If it has meaning for you, you can ask: what does my inner self like to do?
The inner self is closely related to your inner child and very far from the ego.
For example: my inner self likes spontaneity, when my ego likes order and efficient working days.
Therefor spontaneity is fuel for me.
Make this list of things you genuinely like doing, or experiencing, and read that over and over again. Ingrain it into your life, into your habits. Make resolutions engaging in those, instead of resolutions to stick with things you don’t want to do (which will only cost you energy).

Will I put 2015’s failed project back on the list? Absolutely! Because just thinking that I can accomplish that makes me happy. But if in 2016 I don’t do it, and instead get all other surprising and amazing experiences instead, you won’t hear me complain.

Yoga in 2016

Classes resume Monday January 4.

If you live in Nijmegen you can read about my program Crazy Sexy Yoga here in English, and hier in het Nederlands.
It features a Flash Sale with a discount if you register now – check at the bottom.
Flash sale ends Sunday 3 January 2016.
So sign up before that if you want to follow my classes and make sure 2016 will be your best year ever.

One thought on “1/52: Something Bigger is on the Way

Leave a Reply

