2/52: A New Day

2 52 Crazy Sexyby Suzanne L. Beenackers

It’s a step-by-step guide to making this year so special that you can’t wait to jump out of bed in the morning and begin your day.
The Best Year of Your Life
Debby Ford

To say I was excited when New Years Day arrived would be an understatement. I was thrilled. My work was in overdrive, ideas for my writing hobby were abundant – where hobby would roughly translate as “prerequisite for mental sanity and life-line” – and I had made daily exercise non-negotiable. Not having enough energy, lacking new ideas, or a weak entrepreneurial drive were non-existent problems to me. I knew exactly what I wanted, precisely how to get there, and was eager to nail this whole year right from the first minute.
And yet, I knew that if I gave myself free rein I would still end up wasting time and energy to a condition called facebook-email-desk-at-home-boundary-issue. I made four new year resolutions, but this was the most important one: boundaries for using Facebook and email. Every weekend I would be off-line. And after a work infused Friday January 1st, I couldn’t wait to pull the plug and dive headfirst into my offline weekend.
What bliss!

The promise of “A New Day” is the promise of working on the things that matter most to you. Including the things you don’t get paid for but that make your heart sing (especially those!) Sharing time with the ones you love in real life, or phone or other private way of communicating. Enjoying a book, dealing with real life. And I guarantee you: being off-line will settle down those pieces of the puzzle that have been swirling up in the air. It will pull that insight, lurking in the dark, right up into the light. It will release the happiness that was trapped, the energy that was stuck, and it will give you so much clarity on what you want to do that your first resolution will probably be:
I want more of this.

I have no idea what your resolutions are but I m positive that they will benefit if you start 2016 by creating space for it. It’s like anything you want to receive in life: make sure there’s space for it to receive it.
Being offline (I do allow for Whatsapp, phone and smoke signals) frees up time, energy, and creates space to receive new habits, to do new projects, to enjoy more time with friends and family.
So whether you have a thousand resolutions for 2016, or absolutely none, creating the space in your life to receive, will always be beneficial.

Your best year is not about getting all the things you think you need to be happy. In fact, in the year to come you could lose a loved one, or a job. You could get divorced or run into obstacles in your career. But it does not require that every day is a rosy land of paradise or that everything goes your way. What it does require is for you to develop those parts of yourself that are yearning to be expressed. The Best year of Your Life is about becoming inspired by yourself, loving who you are and the choices you are making. It’s about making peace with your past so you can create a future that is unlike anything you have ever experienced. It’s about living each day grounded in reality, with passions and excitement for life, and inspiring others to do the same.

The Best year of Your Life
Debby Ford

1998 Ray_of_Light_MadonnaYoga video A New Day 

I made a 12 minute home yoga video for A New Day. It is a strong yoga practice for in the morning.
You can find it here
Baby M #14 A New Day

The music in class for A New Day is Ray of Light from Madonna. Unedited, in the original sequence.

Classes in Nijmegen resume Monday January 4. You can read about my program Crazy Sexy Yoga here in English, and hier in het Nederlands.
It features a discount if you register now – check flash sale offer.
Flash sale ends Friday 8 January 2016.
So sign up before that if you want to follow my classes and make sure 2016 will be your best year ever.

Leave a Reply

